Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
422 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, let me say that I am just learning about the more in-depth mechanical and modding aspects of cars, and that I can probably find most this information from Google. The reason for posting this is more out of curiosity than anything right now, but could be quite a reality in the coming years and what you guys post will help and mean a lot to me, and provide me with much more beneficial knowledge than I would find on Google.

Basically, as far as the most realistic option price wise, I was thinking of the "5.0L/302 CID SMALL BLOCK 390 HP "Z" HEAD FORD RACING PERFORMANCE CRATE ENGINE ASSEMBLY" found here Ford Racing Performance Parts [M-6007-Z50Z*] on the Ford Racing website. It would be as a swap out of my V6 engine.

It's price is $6,199.00, which from the LOOKS of it isn't a terribly huge difference from buying a supercharger. Since this is an engine producing more HP than a supercharged V6 (without major work), it would still be able to go higher yet if I do throw a super on.

But, I have learned from my dad (who is more mechanically inclined than I) that the price you see is not really the true price with a lot of things, since you will probably have to change a myriad of other components to support the engine. I would ask him the question I am about to ask you guys, but since he bought me this car about half a year and 6,004 miles ago there is NO WAY I am about to tell him that I was considering putting a new engine in, since I'm afraid he would get mad and see me as just being a bratty kid (I would feel the same way if the roles were reversed).