Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
309 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an 04 GT that I'm thinking about putting headers on and a cat-less H-pipe. I just want to know whats involved in the installation of shorty headers? Will I have to take the motor mounts apart and jack the motor? I'm a mechanic, just want to know what I'm up against from people that have installed them. Also, which brands have the best product or you like the best? Where can I find a cat-less H-pipe and not an X-pipe? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
34 Posts
To install those shorty headers your definatley going to have to jack the engine up because theres clearance issues for getting even a wrench in there. I put mine on when i had the engine completly out so im not sure exaclty whats neccessary to get them on while its in. The stock manifolds are going to most likely frozen on or torqued on pretty tight. Make sure you use new gaskets which should come with the new headers. I went with ford racing shorty headers and i like them a lot. I would say your gonna have some difficulty since you dont wanna take the engine out. Good luck.

·
Registered
309 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Any one else??

·
Registered
309 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks guys. I think I'm going to forget about the headers. All I really want is louder exhaust and I think an o/r h-pipe will do just fine. I appreciate your replies.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Yea it would def be a pita if you didnt pull the engine. but i really enjoy having mine. def get alot more engine noise and i love it and lil bit more power up top. just wait until you have something serious todo.

·
Registered
5,907 Posts