Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
381 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My Car: 2011 V6 Mustang with 6 speed manual tranny and 3.31 gears.

Complete noob question I know but looking for information on how I can maximize the fuel efficiency of my car because I don't think its doing very well right now. I have only been driving standard for 2 weeks.

Strictly city driving, the display is telling me 16 L/100kms (14.7 MPG) and after a 3 hour continous highway drive, the lowest number I saw was 9 L/100kms (26 MPG). How does that compare to your numbers?

From a stop, I'm having a hard time accelerating quickly, most people take off much faster and I usually don't catch up until I get to the top end of 2nd or shortly after shifting to 3rd. 1st gear the car barely accelerates it seems like.

On that note, I always noticed it seems like there is extra resistance shifting into 2nd from 1st. I clutch, pull down to 2nd and have to pause for a brief second till I feel it overcome that little bit of resistance. Shifting from 2nd to 3rd is smooth. Anyone else experience this?

I usually shift every gear at 3000rpm including first.

My other question is when I'm running around in the city, I do 10km/hour over the limit, which is 60km/hour (37mph) in third gear at 2500rpm. Is this fine or should I be shifting to 4th.

I was told the general rule of thumb is shift at 3000rpm, and hold the current gear your in below that.

Thanks for any help you guys can dish :)

·
Registered
79 Posts
My experience with mustangs (an '00, '03, '10, '11 GT) has shown me that 'stangs don't pull as well as other cars in first (my cousin's 350z). But, on an another note I shift at around 2500 and cruise at 2000 or a bit below, I would try that.

·
Registered
77 Posts
It just uses a little more gas, it isn't bad for your car. Especially a new car it needs to see a wide variety of RPM's. And when I'm cruising I try and keep it at 2000 RPM's

·