Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
804 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1996 Mustang GT, and I want some more HP, where can I find some cheap PI heads? I'm a broke student, so I can't spend the big bucks for aftermarket heads, or assembled PI swap kits. I suggested to my dad (its our project car) to go to a junkyard and take a look, but he replied "yeah, but then you have junkyard heads" so what is a cost effective solution? If there is one...

R

·
0 Posts
Craigslist or eBay. You can find good deals from time to time on those.
Watch them like a hawk. You might have to look for a while though.

·
Registered
1,222 Posts
Shop on craigslist I would say is the cheapest ebayers seem quite proud of their PI parts. I see PI heads and cams around here for 150-300 usually and Im not sure about a used intake but a new one is only 150-175.

·
Registered
207 Posts
Shop on craigslist I would say is the cheapest ebayers seem quite proud of their PI parts. I see PI heads and cams around here for 150-300 usually and Im not sure about a used intake but a new one is only 150-175.
I got mine on craigslist complete heads cams valve covers and intake for $300

·
Registered
7,401 Posts
If you were here in NC, I have a set of PI heads in my shop that I would sell for $100.

I won't ship them though.

·
Registered
804 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I have family in Greenville, but i wont bother with the hassle. I am reputable through ebay if you would be willing to do it that way. Either way... How complicated is an actual PI swap? My dad has taken apart an engine to replace head gaskets on other fords, and hes been working on cars since a kid, and he would be helping me the whole time. This is MY first expedition into engine work. (other than bolt ons) I read the official PI swap thread and it has scared me away from doing the swap in a way. What is your opinion?

·
Registered
512 Posts