Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a restored 67 Mustang Coupe with a rebuilt C-Code 289 (Completely stock including Y-Pipe single exhaust). The 289 has less than 4k miles on it since the rebuild. I want to use the 289 and do not want to buy a 302 or any other new block. I would rather change out heads/intake/exhaust/cams etc.

I am new to this and do not know where to begin with parts, I am not sure what works with what and how to make sure I get the right parts for my engine (new heads fit etc.).

I am looking to find out what combos work best with the 289.

Heads
Intake Manifold
Carb
Headers
Exhaust
Cams

Sorry for the long, post. I just spent the past few years playing with the 09 mustang, so this is a new beast for me.

Thanks,

·
Registered
283 Posts
Look at an Elderbrock combo, definitely aluminum heads, bigger cam, carb and go! :kooky:

·
Registered
4,555 Posts
Welcome to the forums. Are you going to do all at once or as money permits. Here's an order of things. 1st: 4B aluminum dual plane intake and a 470-600 cfm 4B carb, 2nd free flowing dual exhaust, headers would be nice, 3rd a camshaft this depends on what you want, the more radical the camshaft the worse the gas mileage will get and the idle will have more lope, but performance will improve if everything works together (a camshaft change will require upgrading the valve train (valve springs, keeper, retainer, etc), and lastly the heads I would stay with some that have bigger valves than stock like 1.9 or 1.94 intakes, not the 2.02 valves unless you are planning on racing a lot. Good Luck.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I plan on buying the parts over time and adding them on as I get them. Since the C-Code 289 comes standard with a 2bbl carb, will there be any issues with changing it to a 4bbl?

·
Registered
6,279 Posts
absolutely not. You'll need to change the intake to a 4 bbl one and get a 4 bbl carb.

·
Registered