Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im looking to add a CAI and tune to my 2007 mustang gt. I have no experience with working on cars. Which combo should i get that will net the most HP gains and how easy is it to install CAI and tune the car? Also this might sound ridiculous but how does a tuner work where does it plug into a mustang to program what you want from it? the only other mods i plan to do is o/r x pipe with flowmaster 40 series will I need to tune for just the CAI or will I need a tune for the exhaust changes also?

·
Banned
9,214 Posts
JLT CAI SCT X3

i may be a sixer but this JLT WOKE IT UP!

·
Banned
9,214 Posts
CAI might take you 5 minutes. mine was in like 8 pieces and it took me less than 10.

the tuner plugs in to the computer port below the steering wheel.

plug it in punch a few keys and your off to the races!

·
Registered
4,556 Posts
There should be a OBD port under the dash on the left side of the steering wheel that's where you plug in the tuner. The tuner changes the setting in the cars computer giving it better performance. The CAI will come with instructions and it's simple to install. Exhaust changes do not require a tune unless you do away with sensors.

·
Registered
781 Posts
U know where ur light on and off switch/ dial is? Look directly down under there and ull see a port in which u plug a tuner in. Think of it as the car's USB port in respects to a computer. Ur kit will come with instructions and what a tuner does is adjust ur cars internal computer and let it know that there is something new and how it should run with this new upgrade that you added. Idk what kit your looking at, most of the members who have posted have better product knowledge then me so id listen to them. But id expect close to a 30-40 HP gain off the Flywheel, what that translates to the street im not sure. Im sure the Gearheads on here will fill u in even more.

·