Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings fellow Mustang Enthusiasts! Here I am again, with another one of my famous "stupid questions". Actually, this is my first Fox Body, so I'm just learning about its bugs. One of the biggest problems besides figuring out how to adjust the headlights (which I still haven't figured out), is that pesky "cold start solenoid". At least that's what my best friend, who manages a wrecking yard AND ownes a 5.0 GT, calls the part. So did the wrecking yard I bought 2 of them from.

Well, when I got this car (with the 2.3L) a few months ago, it would NOT start cold unless I sprayed starting fluid into the PCV tube! It just refused to start cold! So my buddy said it was that Cold-Start Solenoid. I went to a local wrecking yard and got 2 of them for only $5 each. Unfortuneately, these things seem to not last long. When I first replaced it (with used), it would start cold every time! Coolness! But after a few weeks or so, it took 2 cranks of the starter. It would never start on the first try, no matter how long I held the key, but if I let off the key and tried again, it would always start on the second try. Then it got to where I had to try it 3 times before it would start cold. It's even getting worse. Now it's getting cold around here, so it often has this problem even in the middle of the day if I let it sit for an hour or so.