88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Its a 88.I have:
Cobra Intake
Gt40 heads with 1.7 rockers
B303 cam
ford racing shorty headers
High flow catted h-pipe w/flowmaster mufflers

Everything else is stock.If it will work with the speed density then I'll start putting it together.If it will work with maybe a couple other things please let me know.If I definitly need mass air and anything else I'll hate to do it but I will.I already have the A9L computer(not installed).I am hoping to keep it speed density.I am new to the whole Fuel injection mess.Thanks for any help you could give me and I'm sorry if this subject has been beat to death but I couldn't find any info on the exact setup I have.Steve

· Registered
13,140 Posts
The bcam does not play well with SD. I know there are a couple of cams out there that get along with the SD but the bcam is not one of them.

SD system relies on idle vacuum.

· Registered
312 Posts
I have a theory, but it's just a theory, that if you keep the idle smooth enough for the vacuum to remain stable, you can put just about anything into an SD system (non-boost), so long as you compensate with injector size/fuel pressure.

The SD adds fuel based on a chart, increasing the engine's power output amounts to adding more fuel and air. The air is increased with the parts you bolt on, but the fuel is only increased (without changing the computer's charts) by increasing injector size and/or fuel pressure.

The thing is though, that you need to be fairly precise in your injector mods to make this work. The fuel charts in the computer can only be compensated by a few percent either way. So if you are not very close in your choices, you can easily run outside the computer's perameters, and be overly rich/lean.

The SD programming is very rigid, and is actually better than MAF, but you have to be dead on. The reason MAF is so popular is that it is user friendly.